Rich Intellectual Experience Free for FCC Faculty and Students

Story By: Hannah Lanier, News Editor

The San Joaquin Valley Town Hall is inviting Fresno City College students and faculty to take advantage of their 2019-2020 lecture series free of charge.

Between the months of October 2019 and April 2020–excluding December 2019–the SJV Town hall is hosting former White House Chief of Staff, General John F. Kelly, Forestry Scientist Dr. Paul Hessbug, and other guest speakers ranging from journalists to explorers.

The SJV Town Hall has made it a priority to provide FCC students with the opportunity to explore their possible career endeavors or hobbies by making this lecture series free.. Attendees only need a faculty or student I.D.

Former Clovis Community College President and current State Center Community College Trustee, Deborah Ikeda, is encouraging faculty members to attend the lectures, as well as encourage their students to attend.

“It [the lecture series] is a wonderful opportunity for students to hear world renowned speakers for free,” said Ikeda, “As well as to ask questions.”

The former CCC president requests, “If a faculty member is bringing a number of students, contact [email protected] and let us know their name, college/university name and number of students they are bringing so we can put a packet of tickets together for them.”

The first lecture will be held Wednesday, October 16 at 10:30 a.m. with Explorer Nick Buettner followed by National Geographic photographer, Jimmy Chin, on Wednesday, November 20 at 10:30 a.m. Chin could be recognized as the director of “World’s Greatest Climb-Free Solo in Yosemite.”

An additional opportunity of winning a free camera is available to all students who attend Chin’s lecture. By simply attending, student names get entered into the raffle. 

“[San Joaquin Valley Town Hall] is bringing quality speakers to Fresno, and students should take advantage of this regularly expensive experience,” said Ikeda. 

For more information on the lectures, including a full list of lecturers, visit or email [email protected].